Types of Car insurance coverage in Florida

The southeasternmost state in the United States, Florida, is known as much for its attractive weather. In addition to long-term warm weather, Florida is home to multiple professional sports teams.

This car insurance coverage in Florida does not cover any damage to your car. According to Florida law, it is mandatory to maintain $10,000 to a maximum of $50,000.

Coverage Type State Requirements
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) $10,000 every driver
Property Damage Liability (PDL) $10,000 every driver
Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) $100,000 per person
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM/UIM) $100,000 per person
Collision $25,000 every driver
Medical Payment Coverage (MedPay) $5,000 every driver

Types of Car insurance coverage in Florida:

Types of Car insurance coverage in Florida

Read More Post

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Every driver in Florida is required to have PIP insurance which covers some medical expenses after a crash, regardless of who caused the crash. According to Florida law, it is mandatory to maintain $10,000.

Property Damage Liability (PD)

PDL covers all your liability for the damage you cause to another person’s car or property. All this makes a huge rush, thus requiring every driver to maintain their car insurance in Florida. The table below lists the coverage type and minimum limits that are required in Florida.

Bodily Injury Liability (BI)

BI coverage protects your assets. Now, if you cause a car crash and another person files a lawsuit against you. You should only have more coverage if you have sizable assets. $100,000 per person and $300,000 per incident is the minimum requirement.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM/UIM)

According to the most recent data, Florida was ranked sixth in the country for most uninsured drivers. This means nearly that one 1 out of every 5 drivers and all over 3 million drivers, did not carry any kind of Car insurance coverage in Florida. UM/UIM covers you, your family.

Your passengers if involved in an accident with the person who carried the state’s mandatory minimal coverage of PD and PIP. Also, they did not carry the Bodily Injury coverage insurance. It is recommended for every person to maintain a minimum of $100,00 per person and $300,000 per incident in Florida.


Property Damage (PD) covers the damage you cause to another’s property but Collision covers damage to your car caused by a collision if you are the at-fault driver. But if you do not carry Collision coverage, then you will have to pay the costs of repair of your car out of your pocket. The minimum coverage required is $25,000 to $50,000 depending on age and car value.

Medical Payment Coverage (MedPay)

MedPay coverage pays the other 20% of the medical bills that are not covered in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) car insurance coverage in Florida. It is the most recent coverage added to the insurance policy. The minimum amount required to maintain MedPay is $5,000 per person.


Every driver has to maintain all the above Car insurance coverage in Florida. The state minimum coverage that is Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) – $10,000 each is mandatory for everyone. While on the other side, insurance is also important for driver safety.


Q.1) What is recommended for car insurance coverage? 

Ans. For every driver Personal Injury Protection (PIP), Property Damage Liability (PDL), Bodily Injury Liability (BIL), Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM/UIM), Collision, and Medical Payment Coverage (MedPay) are the most recommended car insurance in Florida.

Q.2) Is Florida car insurance expensive/costly?

Ans. Florida is one of the most expensive states for auto insurance in the country. According to an estimate by Quadrant Information Services, Drivers usually pay $115 per month or $1,385 per year on average for just minimum car insurance coverage in Florida.

Q.3) What are the minimum requirements for Car insurance coverage in Florida? 

Ans. Florida residents must take at least $10,000 in personal injury protection insurance and $10,000 in property damage liability insurance, which is a safety insurance for policyholders and other people.

Q.4) What does car insurance coverage in Florida ?

Ans. The insurance covers damage or loss by theft and against perils which can include storm and fire damage in the homeowner’s place. It also insured the owner for somehow accidental injuries or death for which the owner itself may be legally responsible.

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading