Can you register a car without a License in Florida?

Owning a car is always an exciting adventure in nature but vehicle ownership comes with multiple responsibilities & duties. This includes one of the highest responsibilities which is figuring out how to register or re-register your vehicle. In the state of Florida, for every vehicle is mandatory to be as Can you register a car without a License in Florida with Florida’s Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Office (DHSMV).

Can you register a car without a License in Florida?

No, anyone cannot register a car without a license in Florida. To register your vehicle with the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), all you need is proof of a valid driving license and insurance.

If you don’t have a driving license, then you can register your vehicle in another person’s name and make them the car title holder. A driving license is a prerequisite for vehicle registration. It is so because it serves as proof that the person registering the vehicle is legally allowed.

 To register a car in Florida, you must:

  • Have your title
  • Pay for registration at your local DHSMV location
  • Provide any two valid documents to confirm your residence
  • And a document showing Florida insurance coverage

If you’ve moved to Florida from another state, you must have your old license transferred over. For instance, Canadian citizens keep their Canadian driving license and can get Florida license.

You May Also Like


What age can you register a car without a License? 

Any person in Florida can’t register their vehicle unless you have a valid Florida ID. And make sure that your ID card is updated and unexpired. But in general, there is no legal or particular age to own a car. However, even if you want to register, title, and insure a vehicle & drive it legally, you need to be at least 18 years old.

Also, if you have just moved to Florida from another state, you must have your old license transferred over here. You can register a vehicle in your name if you only have a valid document, but you must be at least 18 years old.

How long can i register a car without a License? 

If you bought a car from a Florida dealership, the dealership may give you a register of the vehicle, and a temporary license plate, and transfer the title for you. The Florida dealership is required to complete all this transfer of title and the registration within 30 days of the sale.

You must complete a bill of sale to document the transaction. If in case the dealer does not transfer you the title within the 30-day window, you should contact your nearest county tax collector’s office to avoid any further late penalties.

How can i register my car without a License, and How much does it cost? 

Can you register a car without a License in Florida you must visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) in person or online. You’ll need the following documents:

  • Proof of personal identity
  • Proof of Florida insurance coverage
  • Car original title
  • Document of the registration fee
  • Complete Application for a Certificate of Title With/Without Registration of vehicle

Registration fees also vary on the type of vehicle being registered, weight, & whether the vehicle is registered for one year or two.

Type of Vehicle Weight One Year Two Year
Private vehicles below 2,499 pounds $27.60 $55.50
Private vehicles between 2,500 pounds – 3,499 pounds $35.60 $71.50
Private vehicles over 3,500 pounds $46.50 $91.20

There may be some additional fees along with these base registration fees. These fees include:

  • One-time initial registration fee for registering a new car- $225
  • Passenger Vehicle Renewal Fee- $14.50-$32.50
  • Convenience fee for a digital copy of renewal fees- $5
  • Heavy Vehicle Use Tax
  • Delinquent Registration Fee

What are the Renewal fees for Each registration? 

Renewing your vehicle registration will require you to pay a few fees like your vehicle registration fee, a late fee (if applicable), and additional fees. The Renewal fees are as follows:

  • Vehicle Registration Fee: The base fee for renewing a vehicle is between $14.50 and $32.50, depending on vehicle weight.
  • Late Fee (if applicable): If your decals have expired already, then you must be required to pay a late fee, in case of renew your vehicle. This fee may vary from at least $5 to $250.
  • Additional Fees: This is applicable if additional statutory fees exist. Also, certain fees are assessed based on the vehicle’s use and class code.

For more information regarding the Registration & Renewal Fee visit the official site:

Why is a Driver’s License required for car insurance coverage?

Yes, you can insure your vehicle even if you don’t have a driver’s license. It is so because, it makes sense in many situations like whether you’re learning to drive a vehicle, you have never driven any vehicle in your life, on a temporary break from driving a vehicle, or never plan to drive in the future.

But for documentation purposes, instead of a driving license, you can use another photo identification, such as a state ID card, passport, or matrícula consular to prove your identity for any insurance purposes. Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, the two types of insurance coverage are required under Florida’s no-fault law, i.e., Personal Injury Protection and Property Damage Liability.

  • Personal Injury Protection covers 80% of your medical damages from any car accident. Even if you caused the crash or another party, that personal injury protection is available to you.
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage covers the cost of damage done with other vehicles in the crash, either you or someone else was driving the vehicle.


Can you register a car without a License in Florida can appear complicated for the first time. However, being aware of the Sunshine State’s FDHSMV laws and educating yourself on your question asked so you can get a solution on Can you register a car without a License in Florida process cause much confusion. But, by this article, many of your questions might be answered and help you to understand all your documentation and processes fluently.

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading